Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Alan from PALM COAST

Tue, 09/27/2022 - 13:40

In the sea of nice looking but uninspiring guitars, I found the Algonquin 12 stunning in its construction, tonewoods, playability, and sound quality. It's a beautiful instrument with a company behind it that seems to care about what they produce. Things like a proper setup, a good case, new and well matched string sets, seven day trial period, and reasonable shipping costs make it a good deal. That's the way it should be and I'm very grateful for it.

Pierre from Montreal

Wed, 09/14/2022 - 14:46

Tout simplement, incroyable! Une construction impeccable. Le choix des bois comme sur les meilleures guitares. M&M connait vraiment la recette pour produire une bonne guitare. Et à ce prix, tout simplement incroyable. Le son de cette guitare est tout simplement fantastique. J'ai confiance que le son va encore s'améliorer avec le temps.À date je ne trouve aucun défaut. Merci Mac and Marr!

Rick from Kingsville

Mon, 09/12/2022 - 20:10

I was on the golf course when my wife sent a pic and message saying “Your package has arrived”. Needless to say, my decent round went down hill quickly as all I could think about was getting home to play my new Tofino X! I was impressed with the protective packaging for shipping and the case was just as impressive. When I first opened the case, I was even more thrilled. The guitar is beautiful! The abalone purfling and rosette add a richness to the cedar top. The African mahogany is beautiful sharp contrast to the top. The workmanship in the guitar is excellent. All in all, a beauty to behold. But things got even better when I started playing! The set up was excellent…the sound amazing…and the size is just what was seeking. I must admit some trepidation when ordering without holding and playing but the 7 day return policy got me over it. I have Seagull, Martin and Yamaha guitars which I thoroughly enjoy but find the Tofino the most comfortable. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyment with my new guitar.

Pierre from Montreal

Tue, 08/23/2022 - 15:12

A great well built Guitar at a super price! this guitar is just right on! You get a great guitar at a fraction of the cost. It will only get better by playing it. The quality of the guitar can match many high-end guitars out there. Mr. Marr sure knows how good Guitars are made of.

Hans from Port Stanley

Mon, 08/22/2022 - 20:06

Awesome guitar I like just looking at it as well as playing it. It really is a work of art Great job Mackenzie and Marr

Ken from Sacramento

Wed, 08/10/2022 - 23:35

This is a beautiful guitar, very pleasing to the eye. The tone and ease of play are much better than expected for this price point. And the clarity and presence are excellent as well. With a solid AAA Sitka spruce top and Bolivian Rosewood back and sides, this instrument is a tremendous value, comparing very favorably with top-end Martin, Guild, and Taylor 12-strings. And I can't seem to put it down!

Brian from Winnipeg

Tue, 07/26/2022 - 18:28

I received my guitar on Friday. You are not getting this one back, all I have been saying is wow, if I were to be super critical there's nothing, and I mean nothing that I can say about this guitar. From the sound of the cedar to the mahogany sides and back from top to bottom it is flawless and I just love the sound, I could go on and on .

Paul from Wakaw

Tue, 07/26/2022 - 16:29

This is the third Mackenzie and Marr guitar I have owned, first being a Tom Rush and then an Opeongo. Both are guitars I really liked but the former gone to my father and the latter to my daughter. The Tofino has much the same feel as a vintage Gibson SJ with the same gentle playability but a far superior sound. The Tofino isn't easily overpowered by percussive strumming and the whereas the Gibson can sound muted the M and M stays warm and clear.

David from Racine

Thu, 07/21/2022 - 11:23

My experience with 12-string guitars was limited to the not so good instrument that I bought way back in 1990. I didn't know much about guitars then. It was a Dreadnought Style guitar, large and not too dissimilar to hugging a log. The sound of the instrument was bright but brittle and over time the neck warped Beyond repair and could not be readjusted.  I considered a number of brand named instruments and found to be overpriced and I didn't like the sound of most when I heard them on the videos.  Then I found the Algonquin in my online search. First, I admire the business philosophy of Mackenzie and Marr: high quality instruments at Factory Direct prices. I appreciate the craftsmanship and the care that went into the development of this Algonquin. It took me a while to adjust to the algonquin. The shape and size of this instrument were different than my old 12 string. The body style of the Algonquin is very similar in design and tone to my Santa Cruz F model 6 string, both being rich and balanced and resonant. The overtones on the Algonquin ring like handbells. The appearance of the instrument is indeed dramatic with the split Rosewood back, the spruce top with its long straight grain, the detail work and finish flawless. Tuners are quite sensitive and this instrument is easy to keep in tune.  I am very happy to have purchased this instrument. My only regret was not having the electronics installed. Simply, I was just too anxious to play your superb instrument. Thank you for your work in developing this fine instrument.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.