Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Derek from Lee Creek

Mon, 07/18/2022 - 16:28

The only negative I have was that it did need an initial setup as there was some buzzing.. But a slight adjustment on the neck, and bam! Beautiful sound and wonderful to play. I think my guitar time has increased tenfold since it arrived as it is so fun to play. I would recommend it to anyone!

Christopher from Worcester

Mon, 07/11/2022 - 20:44

When I first received the Opeongo and unpacked it, I was very impressed with the quality of craftmanship on the guitar. I was also impressed with the fine quality case. When I began to play I was a bit concerned that the tone was thin and reedy. That being said I found it so easy to play that I kept picking it up, and not surprising for a guitar made of fine quality solid wood, the tone changed rapidly, becoming deeper but still maintaining a clarity from note to note which is a real pleasure. I am enjoying this guitar a great deal. It is truly a fine bargain, a great value for dollars invested. Thanks to you at M&M !

Reno from Gatineau

Wed, 07/06/2022 - 16:37

I just love that guitar. From the sound, to the playability and the esthetics, everything is just perfect. It plays better than a lot of guitars worth twice the price. Also, I received my order within 24 hours after ordering, which was a pleasant surprise. Keep up the good work !

Ambrose from Florence, NJ

Thu, 06/23/2022 - 14:08

This is a nice, quality guitar! I have over twenty from min range to Martin D28 and Taylor 414c. It compares favorably to the Taylor. Action is nice up and down the neck. I’d buy another in a heartbeat! Excellent customer service as well. Keep up the good work.

Rick from Altona

Thu, 06/23/2022 - 14:08

I am very pleased with my new Dionisio X. The purchase went smoothly from order to delivery. I was kept informed of the progress until the guitar had been delivered to my door. The guitar was packaged securely and arrived with no signs of damage to the outer box. The case and the guitar were in perfect condition and a beautiful sight to behold. The finish is flawless and each wood is like a display on itsa own, showcasing the beautiful grains. I love the way it feels in my hands. It felt so natural the first time I picked it up. It has a sweet mellow tone with a surprising amount of sound projection. I didn't get the electronic addition and do not regret it. If I played with other musicians I would have added it but for myself, the guitar is more than enough. I do appreciate the quality of materials and workmanship that went into the creation of this fine instrument. I would not hesitate to buy another Mackenzie and Marr instrument. They delivered on everything they said they would. Each time I pick it up to play I am so pleased I bought this beautiful instrument.

Keith from ETOBICOKE

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 11:01

I’m an amateur who wants to play a little bit on an acoustic (69 yrs). I appreciate craftsmanship and while I may never do this beautiful guitar justice, I just wanted to treat myself and not have to buy another down the road. My rationale? I’ll leave it to my son some day. I discovered your company, read your story online. Canadian eh? Made in China? The reviews looked promising so I decided to take the leap, enamoured by the quality of materials and apparent craftsmanship. When I opened the lovely case and saw what I can only describe as an artistic masterpiece, I was so happy and assured that I’d made the right decision. The detail, materials and craftsmanship in this instrument are astounding. The website photos can’t convey its true beauty. Thanks for a great instrument and for delivering on your promise. I look forward to years of pleasure with my new Riverboat. Keith N - Toronto

Lou from Ormond Beach

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 11:01

I’m a singer-songwriter, and play 12-string as my primary instrument. I use live on-stage solo, with duos, trios, and bands, through small PA’s and house systems, in venues from small clubs to festival stages. It’s my choice in studio settings as well. I was looking for a backup 12-string guitar I could quickly switch to in a live situation if needed. Well, the Algonquin 12 caught my eye right away. It’s a beautiful axe, and the pictures (fit and finish), reviews (from first-timers to professionals), and brand endorsements (Tom Rush) caught my attention. After couple of email exchanges with John Marr, who satisfied my concerns about on-stage feedback issues, and keeping a 12-string guitar at concert pitch, I decided to take a chance and ordered one. The no-questions-asked 7-day guarantee made it an easy choice. The guitar arrived in perfect shape, and after installing the battery, I found it to be better than expected. The Anthem pickup is flawless, and easy to adjust. Most important, the sound is truly wonderful. Bolivian rosewood and spruce bring a clarity which I expect will only improve as the guitar opens up. Needless to say, the Algonquin 12 is now my primary live performance guitar and my former go-to axe (without mentioning the brand) is now relegated to the guitar stand at the back of the stage. Can’t wait to see what songs may be waiting to be unlocked. If the songs end up as pretty as the guitar, I’ll be all set.

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 06/06/2022 - 12:27

I am now the proud owners of two Mackenzie and Marr guitars and have to say how so very pleased I am. They play superbly and look so very special. I can only say and recommend any future purchasers of guitars to consider these great products; they won't be disappointed

Tom from Sherwood Park

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

I recently purchased the Opeongo as a replacement for my previous Parlor guitar and it has met my expectations (which were admittedly high). The guitar has great bass response and single string clarity making it an excellent choice for fingerstyle. There is a bit of buzz as noted by other reviewers on the thinner strings at the lower frets...although I am pretty sure it's cause the action is really low. I plan to raise the action a bit to set it up for some slide playing and expect it to shine there as well. A great guitar for a great price!

GARTH from Orleans

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

In 2021 we switched from driving to Florida to flying. So I needed to get a guitar that I'd play there. An American friend suggested M&M who were Canadian but I had never heard of. I ended up ordering the Ian Tyson Inspiration which they delivered there. On opening the box, my first impression was how beautiful it was. Unlike the model on the website which was a typical "dark" rosewood, it is a lighter "golden" colour with a lovely grain structure. On playing it, I was impressed by the ergonomics of its smooth straight neck, low action, and comfy body fit. And the sound! Wow. Clear, distinct, and balanced. The case too is beautiful, solid and very snugly padded. Heading back to Canada in 2022 I was very conflicted. I didn't want to leave my best guitar behind. But then I wouldn't have one in Florida. So I ordered another for delivery here! Again the same beautiful look, feel, and sound of the sibling. Obviously, I highly recommend it. Check out John Marr's videos of the Riverboat and ITI models which gives a better view of the back and sides of Bolivian rosewood. My spruce tops are "unblemished".

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.