Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Eric from Victoria

Fri, 03/11/2022 - 19:41

When I first called Mac Kenzie and Marr to enquire about The Baby Boat Mr. Marr answered the phone. Was I ever surprised. We talked for 20 to 30 minutes and what a fine good natured man he is. I told him I needed to discuss the purchase with my wife before finalizing the purchase. A few minutes later I called back and purchased the guitar and what a beauty it is. There is nothing about it I would change. The sound, the workmanship the over all visual appeal is first class. An employee at a near guitar shop who plays bluegrass was really taken back by the sound and volume from a smaller guitar. When asked, who carries this guitar, the answer was you buy direct. And I’m glad I did. Because there was going to be a number of months to wait before receiving the guitar I purchased another guitar that they had in stock. This purchase was not at the same time but a couple of months into the wait for the Baby Boat. I like a double o size guitar with 12 frets. The Opeongo is a wonderful instrument. It’s beauty is in its simplicity and wonderful craftsmanship. And the sound is just lovely. I’m thrilled with both guitars and should there be a Baby Boat with 12 frets offered one day I’ll probably buy it as well. I’m not rich, but the value for the price is just hard to turn down. Not to forget, their luthier set both guitars up just right for me. Thank you all for making such lovely instruments. Eric

Richard from Hudson

Fri, 03/11/2022 - 17:38

This is my 7th M&M guitar and like the rest, it has excellent playability, tone, and appearance. Booming base tones and crisp clean trebles make this a standout in my collection of over 95 acoustics. I’ve been playing for 60+ years and wouldn’t hesitate to play this guitar on stage. The price point makes it the perfect dreadnaught for an entry level player too.

George from Chelmsford

Mon, 01/31/2022 - 22:51

Simply a terrific guitar! I own over 30 guitars, some costing in the multiple of thousands and this guitar is as good or better than any of them. It's also beautiful, plays easily and is an incredible buy. I am extremely happy with my purchase. Nice case too.

Rocky from Cincinnati

Mon, 01/31/2022 - 22:35

This instrument is really built well. It plays very easily. The intonation is spot on. The top is starting to open up. It’s a fantastic 00 size Parlor. Very light weight. All solid woods! It’s just gettin better and the price was more than reasonable! There are great deals on guitars out there and you just found one!

Greg from Mount Pearl

Tue, 01/25/2022 - 18:52

I've been playing guitar since 1964, professionally since the early 70s and I'm still playing today. I have owned many guitars...some no name, some big name, and they all make good and bad. In the last number of years, with aging shoulders I have found the smaller body guitars like 000's and OM's to be more comfortable. I bought a Martin 000 and used it regularly on stage for a couple of years. Having an eye for "bling" , when I saw the Tofino X I was intrigued so I read the reviews on it and decided to buy one. Here are my thoughts. First on the downside. Communication with the company could have been better...delivery took longer than I thought it would, but some of that is where I live. I requested the action be set a certain way, as it was advertised, and that isn't the way it came. I brought it to my guitar guy and he did a set up on it. The frets also needed to be dressed and the edges filed, but I've also had much more expensive guitars that needed that right out of the box too. (Remember what I said about good and bad.) I use light stings too...10-47, so not unexpectedly the smaller body guitar doesn't have a big booming sound, but I would have been shocked if it did. Final little disappointment is the tiny print on the inside which says "made in China". I have never associated "quality" with chinese made guitars, but more in that in a minute. I could be mistaken, but I don't think this is a fact that Mackenzie and Marr advertise. Pros...regardless of where this guitar was made, the workmanship is extremely good... actually as good as I've ever seen. Salute to the Chinese Luther. I'm still getting used to the L.R. Baggs Anthem, but that's not the guitar. This is a hard guitar to put down. While not overly loud, it has an absolutely gorgeous tone. Very warm and extremely well balanced. I have since sold my Martin as frankly it's not in the same league with the Tofino X. Depending on how I make out with the L.R. Baggs set up I may or may not use this guitar on stage, but it is the guitar I pick up first...every time. I also own a Taylor T5, Godin A6 Ultra and 2 Adamas, one custom made, and a couple of Gretsch's. At the end of the day, the Tofino X will be my "keeper"...and it was only $1600.00 delivered! All things considered, It's a 5 star guitar.

Basil from New Brunswick

Tue, 01/18/2022 - 14:34

On December 21st, 2009, I placed an order to purchase a Mackenzie and Marr guitar. It was a Tofino, the only guitar they were making at the time. The guitar was recommended to me by my daughter, who was working at CBC on the Dragon's Den show at the time, and this guitar (and company) caused quite a sensation with all the players who worked for CBC. Based on what they told her about the guitar, she phoned me, gave me the story and said to me that I should order one. As a rule, I don't collect guitars. I feel I only need one of each; one acoustic steel-string guitar, one classical guitar, one solid body electric guitar, one vintage acoustic-electric guitar and one solid body electric bass. I had a Martin Guitar and, at the time, felt that it was the only one I needed for its category. However, I was intrigued with the buzz at CBC, the Dragon's Den Show, the concept of the guitar and the company. I felt it was worth giving the Tofino a shot. It came through Canada Post in a huge well-packed box. When I brought it home, unpacked the box and opened the case, it was a joy to see for the first time. The attention to detail was remarkable; it was nice and light. It played beautifully, especially after changing the strings to D' Addario Silk and Steel. All I have added was a pickup, which wasn't an option from the company when I first bought it. Twelve years later, almost to the day, it is still a joy to play. The Tofino is my go-to guitar when I want to learn a new song, experiment with a solo or practice for a gig. The Martin is long gone, I traded it for a much better classical guitar. I would rank my Tofino guitar as it is: 5 out of 5; no regrets on this purchase. Basil Kazakos New Brunswick, Canada

William from Sorrento, BC

Wed, 01/12/2022 - 19:36

Wow!!! Great purchase. I have an acoustic Takamine that I purchased in 1984 and it has a beautiful tone with a natural volume but nothing compared to the Tofino X. Amazing price for this quality guitar and Mackenzie & Marr were exceptionally easy to deal with. Item was "as described" and received in excellent condition. Even the guitar case was impressive. I will gladly recommend Mackenzie & Marr to my music friends. Thanks again!

BRENT from Peterborough

Wed, 01/12/2022 - 19:33

I really love the fact I can get a solid wood instrument for one thousand bucks. My favorite place to play is by the campfire, and I don't want to settle for just an inexpensive "beater" guitar. On top of that Mackenzie and Marr really nailed it when it comes to my preference and what I was looking for with this guitar. This 00 is a joy to play, comfortable with a lightweight so you can really feel the music you are playing. Soundwise the guitar is still very new and still developing character but volume is great and very responsive to my finger picking. Trebles are clear and chimy and the low end has a bit of a gritty sound I really like. Looking forward to hearing this guitar for years to come. It makes an excellent companion guitar. For the record this replaced my Martin 000-15m. Considering adding the Tofino to my collection now as well. Just want to say a special thank you to MacKenzie and Marr for their entrepreneurship, I would highly recommend these guitars to a friend.

Howard from Summerhill

Tue, 01/04/2022 - 12:55

We can all go down rabbit holes with our research and I kept coming back to the site and debating which model was right to try. I decided on the Tofino and was blown away by the packaging, the quality of the case and the first impression upon opening. I have been lucky to have had some high dollar instruments over the years from the names we all know and I can say that the set up out of the box was every bit as good and in some cases, far better than the more recognized brands. We had a couple small issues that were resolved, promptly and professionally in such a refreshing manner that my head is still spinning. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed at twice this price point and even higher with the attention to detail and the beauty of the instrument before it is even played. I have a high end instrument from a company that begins with a "T" and it is exquisite but at the end of the day, I most often reach for my Tofino. John Marr's personal outreach with my minor issues made me feel that I was part of the family - Pull the trigger.

Miguel from GLOUCESTER

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

I find the Tofino X very comfortable to play chords and strumming. Fingerpicking and arpeggios aren't that comfortable compared to typical classical guitars of wider neck. The sound quality, in my opinion, is comparable to much more expensive guitars. Service is very personalized and friendly; I happened to meet their luthier and he was quite friendly as well as knowledgeable and passionate for guitars.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.