Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

R W from West Grove

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

Fantastic sound and playability. I picked it up and played my favorite 12-string songs I hadn’t played in couple of years with ease. Beautiful workmanship.

Ian from Sechelt

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

This is my second Mackenzie & Marr guitar and I am genuinely delighted with both of them. I wanted a well made small bodied guitar with good string spacing for finger style, and a friendly neck and this one rings all those bells. I love the satin finish, and for the size of it, it has great volume. Also, M & M restrung it to my requirements. Highly recommend these guys and their guitars!

Larry from Blacksburg

Mon, 11/29/2021 - 12:58

I am well pleased with my purchase of a M/M guitar. The fit and finish are impeccable. Playability is excellent. Set up nicely for my heavy strumming and flat picking. Big sound! I had no previous knowledge of this guitar maker, but the attractive price encouraged me to give it a try. Robust return policy gave me confidence that I was protected in case I was disappointed. I’m a happy buyer.

Daniel from Brampton

Tue, 11/23/2021 - 14:17

I love my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitars. Stay in tune best. Plays very well. Sounds awesome. Mackenzie Marr create beautiful instruments. Very much recommend this as high quality guitar of choice, produces great ty sound Valve for the money, I see extremely good Absolutely love my two Ian Tyson Inspiration Mackenzie Marr guitars Hands down great choice of acoustic guitar Best regards Daniel

Kevin from Roseburg 97470

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 22:21

Such a sweet guitar! Worth every minute of the wait and every dollar spent . Fit and finish are way way more than expected for the price range. It beats my original Taylor 12 in playability and sound. Thanks guys

David from Altoona

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:45

Probably best $1100 guitar I have seen and played. I have 5 12 string guitars now and have sold/given away many more. The most important feature is the sound. Each string strummed sings independently and harmonizes perfectly with rest with “no muddiness” in the middle that you get with cheaper guitars. This stays in tune almost perfect with great tuners. Beautiful to look at and admire. Sounds great when plugged in. You will not be disappointed.

Rodney from Georgetown

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:41

The GOOD, the less than good, the really great. After the 4 month wait, finally received the Ian Tyson Inspiration. The Good: Beautiful woodwork, good action, excellent case, well packaged and arrived intact and unscathed by UPS and multiple other shipping adventures. The Lass than Good: Was missing the nylon tool to adjust the front/back balance on the Anthem pickup system. Contacted L.R. Baggs and they are sending one via post. Also was expecting an unattached clear pick guard, was not included. If I decide to put a pick guard on will source via internet. There is one blemish on the guitar......a chip in the finish at the edge of the cable plug-in/strap knob. The fitting is secure and the blemish is in a spot that is invisible when the strap is in place. Not a biggie, but just wanted to give a full, honest review. Contacted John and he said a clear pick guard is on its way and that compensation will be provided for the chipping at the strap peg. The REALLY GREAT: The sound!!!! What a live, balanced sound. For a "green" guitar, this amount of resonance and purity of tone are amazing and foretell of even more wonderful sounds as the guitar matures and seasons in. Have been playing the guitar for a month or so in rehearsal and performance and it is indeed opening up and sounding fantastic! Well done MacMarr!!!

John from Riverside

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:34

There are few dreadnaught guitars which are not simply banjo killers.  Joni had one.  So did Judy, but they are rarities.  With most the tone is just not tame or well balanced.  For accompaniment, they are not the best choice for a singer/songwriter. C.F.'s favorite guitar was a 00.  There were many nice old J model Gibsons like Buffy's but these smaller guitars, like the 00, didn't respond well to being redesigned for heavier strings.  The Martin F/M/J/0000 is a good choice but it tends to err to being overbuilt and somewhat undersized.  The old Martin F guitars which were converted to flattops were deeper with VERY rounded backs. If you sing and play well, the question becomes "where do I find a guitar which can accompany my voice?" The Tyson MacKenzie and Marr answers that question very forcefully. Pretty is nice.  If bling make you or audience happy, the Tyson is an elegant 40 style pearl guitar with an exceptional rosette.  Too bad the audience can't see the sides and back of Bolivian rosewood!  The sapwood back center may not please everyone.  Mine is a skunk, not a chevron this time and it is beautiful!  The top is wood it die for. The Venetian cutaway is something new to me.  I really can play up there?  Yes! The neck is familiar, comfortable, matte finished for speed and topped with open gear pegs - a favorite, The sound is authoritative but not overpowering.  It flatpicks beautifully and fingerpicks easily.  It doesn't BOOM but could hold it's own in any setting. I wonder why I am waiting for my Riverboat?  There are still banjoes prowling the world.  I can sing duets and trios but fo being alone with a mic, I'll take the Tyson.

Orlando from Mastic

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 20:16

A beautiful and affordable guitar that fulfills all the wishes for a great 12 string. From day 1 I was blown away and I could not put it down. Now it is one of my top three go to guitars for strumming and funning. Could not have asked for a better axe.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.