Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Greg from West Chester

Fri, 10/01/2021 - 11:51

Have owned for about a month and love it. I had been looking at guitars for quite a while and just happened to run across M&M. Other than a rather lengthy wait, everything was thumbs up. Whenever I send a note for a status update, I received a timely response. Now that I have it in my hands, I could not be more satisfied. Sounds great, and is easy on my fingers. I have been plinking a guitar for about 60 years and am far from accomplished, but it gives me great pleasure to play. I have two other guitars, a classical and an Ibanez acoustic that I purchased new in 1977. Still play it but the Tofino X is my favorite. I feel I am finally progressing in my ability, and will consider the 12 string in the future.

Robert from Scituate

Fri, 10/01/2021 - 11:50

My first M&M guitar. The guitar is really beautiful and very well made. No extra glue inside, finish is perfect and the appointments are really classy. In terms of the sound, it is excellent for fingerpicking and easy strumming. If you've not owned a Cedar top guitar, you are in for a treat as long as you know what you're getting. Cedar is wonderful for emanating beautiful tones with just a very soft touch. Combined with the solid mahogany back and sides and you get a guitar that is warm and rich but well balanced - i.e. solid bass but not boomy, great mids and highs. Having said that, the one thing you have to know about Cedar is that it breaks down a bit if you hammer on it - i.e. the sound gets muddy if you strum it really hard. If you are heavy handed or you like to really strum all out, then you would be better off with the Spruce topped dread M&M offers. For me, the size of the guitar combined with the beautiful tones make it perfect for my use. I give it a four instead of 5 for two things - first, there were several left over wood bits inside the guitar which I had to work on getting out and second is the lack of direction for how to connect the battery cable for the pickup. That's not necessarily a limitation of the guitar as much as a suggestion for M&M to include instructions along with the guitar when they ship. Last REALLY positive thing I will say was the set up was fantastic! I requested that they drop the action as much as possible since I mostly fingerpick and light strum without a pick and they really came through on the setup. So easy to play, it is a joy!

Bennett from Elkins Park

Fri, 10/01/2021 - 11:44

My new Tofino X arrived a few days ago, and I am thrilled with it. It sounds good, feels good, and looks good. It is comfortable to play using the finger picking style I favor. I'm very glad to have this instrument.

Jerry from Davison

Fri, 10/01/2021 - 11:39

The Guitar is more than I expected! It looks amazing and sounds great! The case, although it was free, it has a six inch cut on the outside cover, which someone attempted to glue?

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 12:03

I've been in possession of my Dionisio for one week now and it has at least 25 hours worth of play. Having received my Ian Tyson earlier in the year I had no reservations ordering my second Mackenzie & Marr guitar. My Ian Tyson is pretty much flawless in everyway and my Dionisio arrived in the same condition with a very nice setup, medium low action and intonates as good as you could ask for. The quality of materials and the craftsmanship of their luthiers is second to none. These instruments play and sound beautiful. I've put a Riverboat on my bucket list. Thank you John and Co. for keeping quality and customer service at a high level.

Robert from League City

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 11:14

I have had this guitar for well over a month now, and it continues to grow on me. It is a beautiful guitar, and the craftsmanship is top notch. It has a very sweet voice, great highs and mids, but a decent bass response as well. I would put it up against a lot of more expensive guitars. I expect many years of playing pleasure with this one. Very glad that I took the leap of faith and purchased one.

Ron from South Riding

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 08:15

Nice guitar, though smaller than I am used to as a D-28 player for decades. The size difference also translates to less bottom end and a bit less volume. I'm not sure if some of that may also be the red cedar top. I have only placed spruce until now, but the top does look great, as does the rest of the woodwork. Strings seem heavy, so I plan to change them to at least one size lighter. Action arrived a bit high for me, but I'm comparing it to a $5K Martin. Other than that, I wish I had sprung for the pickup. Maybe on the next one!

Dan from Stephenville

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 08:12

Well made, very beautiful instrument. The sound is magnificent! The guitar could easily sell for twice the price. I highly recommend Mackenzie and Marr Guitars Even though the company offers the opportunity to return the guitar, i am definitely keeping mine! Thank you for the privilege of owning a wonderful instrument!

Thomas DIONISIO from HOHOKUS NJ 07423

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 07:56

I PURCHASED "DIONISIO" GUITAR FOR MY GRANDSON 17TH BIRTHDAY.....HE PLAYS IT EVERYDAY AND TAKES LESSONS EVERY WEEK...HE ENJOYS THIS BEAUTIFUL GUITAR EVERYDAY!!

GEORGE from ANCRAM

Wed, 09/29/2021 - 10:01

Wow!! I am blown away. I received my Dionisio on October 4th. This guitar is absolutely beautiful on every level. It's everything they say it is. If I didn't know any better I'd guess the price would be at least $3000 or more.The Cedar and Mahogany woods are gorgeous and it sounds AMAZING!! The set up was perfect. In my time I've played and have owned many guitars. Martin, Guild and more specifically aGibson J45. The Dionisio stands toe to toe with every one of them. Last but not least customer service was superb. This guitar is truly the find of the century for me. A very big thanks to M&M for making such high quality guitars at affordable prices. Great job M&M.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.