Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Alan from Toronto

Fri, 09/10/2021 - 13:43

Some people may be reluctant to buy a guitar sound-unheard, as it were, but that is exactly how I have purchased all of my guitars as I do not want a guitar that has been played by anyone and everyone in a guitar store. This guitar is great and I will buy another M&M guitar down the road.

Rick from EASTON, MD USA

Tue, 08/24/2021 - 12:17

The Opeongo exceeded my highest expectations. The small body/12 frets clear design is perfect for fingerstyle; the guitar is light and well balanced to hold. I was surprised by the complexity of the tone, the sustain and overtones. Excellent worksmanship apparant in the wood bound neck, nearly invisable.

John from Cumberland

Tue, 08/17/2021 - 12:26

The very first comment I have for this company is to praise the outstanding service. I purchased an Opeongo recently and had an issue with the guitar. Having purchased the guitar “sight unseen”, I was skeptical on how this issue would be resolved. Within hours of receiving the instrument and discovering the issue, I called the company. I spoke with John Marr directly and explained the issue to him. He immediately arranged to have the instrument looked at the very next day. He assured me if there was a problem with the instrument would be fixed on site or that if it could not be resolved immediately, it would be replaced. To be honest, that night I was questioning myself about having purchased a guitar without trying it first. And now there was an issue with the guitar. After thinking about the situation I was pretty sure I was going to return the guitar the next day when I met with the luthier. As the company has a “love it or leave it” policy. The next day I met with the Luthier from M&M a very knowledgeable, polite, friendly fellow and is truly an asset to their company. He inspected the guitar and came to the conclusion that it could not be repaired on site and had to be returned for repair. He had, along with his tools, brought a brand new Opeongo guitar just in case he could not repair the one that I had received the day before. As I mentioned earlier, I was just simply going to return the guitar. But since the Luthier had brought another Opeongo and I hadn’t had the opportunity to try one as the first one had issues, I decided to try the new one. It was set up just the way I like and the playability was excellent. So I decided to keep the new one and give it an honest try. Once the Luthier had left I went over the guitar with a fine tooth comb. Fit and finish are excellent A +. The matte finish is very appealing to me. Size and weight are perfect for me. Grover tuning machines are very smooth. The sounds, highs and lows are second to none. I love the sound ! I started playing the guitar and just couldn’t put it down ! What a fun guitar to play. This is my guitar to keep !! In conclusion, I would not hesitate to purchase another instrument from Mackenzie & Marr. They have an excellent product. The customer service is the best I have ever had or seen. A VERY happy customer John (Admin comments: The reviewer did not mention the name of the luthier. He's Jerry Greenberg. He's a key member of our team. Jerry is available to do work for individuals and can be reached at (613)636-1094.

Douglas from Killeen

Mon, 08/02/2021 - 14:08

The Algonquin 12 string arrived in flawless condition. It looks and sounds just great.The Baggs PU was installed but the end that holds the battery needed to be taped down, so I took care of that. I plugged it in, made the adjustments on the insert. I am very pleased. The cases is suitable for traveling with no worries. Thank you, MacKenzie and Marr. I already owned the Ian Tyson model 6 string with the venetian cut-away and its my baby. But I have taken the 12 string out on-stage and its a hit! I have been playing since 1968. I already own a Martin SPD 6string, a 1972 Martin D 28 and a 1972 Martin D 41. But the Mac's are at the top of my list. Once again, a HUGE Thank You!

Ron from north attleboro

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:53

Sounds great, plays great, and looks even better. Comes in a really nice case. I was so impressed with this guitar I ordered the Riverboat Dread.

Gail from Gresham

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:32

I am very satisfied, the build quality is very good, fit and feel are great. I am looking for a 12 fret slope shoulder dreadnaught. Hope something may be in the works. Gail.

Nathan from London

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:25

Having ordered the 12-string online without playing it first, I was apprehensive. It was a pleasant surprise that it arrived in only two days. When I took it out of the case, I was struck with the quality of its finish, the Grover tuners, and the fine spruce and rosewood construction. It is a really fine-looking instrument. It had been tuned to standard 'E' tuning, and I lowered it to a 'DGCFAD', which I prefer on a 12-string. I tried a few tunes which fit best on a 12-string, like "Walk Right In" and was so pleased with its lovely tone and sustain. I've been playing it for two weeks I have not installed a battery and tried it with an amplifier so cannot comment on that. I can't tell if there is a truss rod or some way to adjust the neck if necessary. I really enjoy playing this guitar and so far, I am satisfied that it is a very good guitar at a very good price.

John from Riverside

Mon, 07/19/2021 - 09:50

Twelve strings are the conundrum of the guitar world.  The really good ones either self destruct like flamenco instruments or achieve a day in the sun because they were terribly overbuilt and can accidentally withstand the abuse of years of heavy handed playing and poorly chosen strings. There are a few nicely crafted instruments which don't have a reputation for sounding very good.  There are a few handmade instruments with quirky designs at very high prices and there are roughhewn historic relics best known from black and white photographs and 78 recordings.  You can't help but wonder "what if?" The Algonquin probably costs less in adjusted dollars than Leadbelly's Stella.  The quality of the build however is equal or maybe even superior to any instrument on the market.  The top is a AAA grade spruce,  The grain is not only fine, it is perfectly uniform across the width of the top.  You can read about wood like this but this is the first time I've actually seen it.  There is also an extremely fine, uniform bear claw figure which rivals the very best curly grain imaginable. The back and sides are beautifully matched Bolivian rosewood.  I've seen some pieces of old growth Brazilian which were almost this intense and colorful.  The grain is straight enough to please those who cater in that direction and just wild enough with vibrant white center chevron to spark a long conversation.  It probably starts with "Wow." The black binding with a w/b accent is subtle and dignified.  A couple times I wondered "what if" but now I think this was the right choice,  A white or maple binding isn't warranted.  There's a nice M&M rosette with a simple abalone ring.  The neck has their customary matte finish - a pleasure to hold.  There's a nicely carved volute, and a headstock with Grover Rotomatics.  I can hear Leadbelly wondering "what if?" The D'Addario light gauge strings are more than adequate to drive the guitar to railroad trilogy crescendos.  What's really nice is the instrument responds equally well to a really light touch.  No, really light!  You can sing over a chorus of sound with a fullness that just doesn't happen with a six string. I've got the tuning lowered a half step.  One day I may drop it down to D.  I don't foresee any problem with the strings or with the action.  Gordon, eat your heart out!

Christopher from Toronto

Mon, 07/19/2021 - 09:49

Delivery was fast with no issues. Have been looking for an affordable12 fret small body acoustic for some and the Opeongo all solid ticks all the boxes. Love this box.

Edward from Vancouver

Wed, 07/14/2021 - 10:13

This is one sweet guitar that demands precise contact to yield a rich tone. Wow, did I say that... I've improved dramatically in only a few days! The more I caress this instrument.. the sweeter the sound in general. Finger picker may wants to lower the action but now it's a good compromise. Intonation is almost bang on, and my slide likes the height of the strings.. Looks wonderful, feels wonderful, and even smells wonderful. To the point, I can forgive a blemish or two. ) Five stars are needed to complement this guitar!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.